Who Was The Last English Manager To Win The Premier League?

Julian Prizont-Cado/Shutterstock.com

Even the biggest critics of the Premier League would admit that England’s top division features the very best players and managers from all around the world. English players seem to have no problem winning the title season in and season out. However, the same cannot be said for managers.

Howard Wilkinson was the last English manager to win the top flight when he captured the title with Leeds United in 1991-92. At the time, England’s top tier was known as the First Division, not the Premier League.

The First Division was rebranded the Premier League in 1992-93, the season Manchester United won the title for the first time in 26 years. Things didn’t work out quite so well for Leeds. Champions in 1991-92, they finished the 22-team 1992-93 campaign in 17th place.

Who played for Leeds United in 1992?

The Leeds United team of 1991-92 included the famous midfield quartet of David Batty, Gary McAllister, Gary Speed and Gordon Strachan. Lee Chapman was the club’s top scorer that season (20 in all competitions), while Rod Wallace was also a key player.

Leeds’ most frequent starting XI in 1991-92: John Lukic, Mel Sterland, Chris Fairclough, Chris Whyte, Tony Dorigo, David Batty, Gordon Strachan, Gary Speed, Gary McAllister, Lee Chapman, Rod Wallace.

Howard Wilkinson was able to call upon Eric Cantona in the second half of the season. The Frenchman scored three goals to help Leeds’ title charge. He left the club midway through 1992-93 to join Manchester United, where he won the league another four times.

Who was the last British manager to win the Premier League?

In recent years, Brendan Rodgers is the only British manager to come close to winning the title (Liverpool, 2013-14). The likes of David Moyes, Eddie Howe and Roy Hodgson have managed multiple top-flight seasons over the last decade, but their clubs never stood a realistic chance of seriously challenging at the top.

Sir Alex Ferguson was the last British manager to win the Premier League. He achieved the feat in 2012-13 in his final season in charge at Manchester United.

Only two Brits – Kenny Dalglish (Blackburn Rovers) and Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United) – have led their team to the title in the Premier League era.

Which managers won the Premier League?

Winning the domestic league is arguably the toughest challenge of them all. As Pep Guardiola says, Champions League knockout rounds are often 50-50 contests, with some ties decided by marginal calls. The Premier League, by contrast, is a true test to find out which team really is the strongest.

The following managers are Premier League winners: Sir Alex Ferguson, Kenny Dalglish, Arsene Wenger, Jose Mourinho, Carlo Ancelotti, Roberto Mancini, Manuel Pellegrini, Claudio Ranieri, Antonio Conte, Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp.

With 13 Premier League titles, Sir Alex leads the way by quite some distance. Guardiola (5), Mourinho and Wenger (both 3) are also multi-time winners. The others only won English football’s top prize once since the league’s inception.